List of Premier League Winners ( 1992 till date)

By Soccer Blog | Jun 27, 2011

Since the inception of the English Premier League in 1992, one team has dominated above all others, winning the trophy in a frankly ridiculous 13 of the 26 titles handed out since the re-branding of the old First Division. This team is, as you will already no doubt know, Manchester United.

The Red Devils have dominated the Premier League era with an unnerving consistency but the Manchester giants have not had it all their own way. There have been years when their dominance has been tested and even broken, making the Premier League a lot more than just a procession of trophies through the red half of Manchester.

The first team to win the Premier League, other than Sir Alex Ferguson’s United side, were Blackburn Rovers in their pathbreaking 1994/95 season. With the help of Jack Walker’s millions and legendary manager Kenny Dalglish ( who manages Liverpool now) , Blackburn did the unthinkable and rose from Division One to win the Premier League title in just a few short years. With players as talented as Chris Sutton, Colin Hendry, Tim Sherwood and, of course, Alan Shearer they were worthy champions but unfortunately things unravelled from there with Blackburn suffering relegation just a few years later. At the end of the 2016/17 season, they dropped down to League One- the first Premier League champions to drop down to the third tier.

After Blackburn, there was a gap of three years before another side lifted the Premier League title other than United when, led by the mercurial Dennis Bergkamp, and backed up by talents such as Patrick Vieira and Manu Petit, Arsenal won a famous double of league and FA Cup. Arsenal also won the title in the 2001/02 season before making history by going the whole league season unbeaten two years later in one of the most memorable title campaigns ever. Arsenal are still consistently amongst the favourites for the Premier League now, but haven’t quite been able to replicate the success of earlier years.

Making up the trio of Premier League challengers to Man United are Chelsea who, since the arrival of owner Roman Abramovich in 2003 have won five league titles. They picked up the trophy under Jose Mourinho in 2005 and 2006 before winning their hat trick of titles under Carlo Ancelotti. Manchester City won their first ever Premiership title on May 13, 2012 when they scored twice in extra time against QPR to take the title in incredible circumstances and have, since then, won two more titles- 2013/14 and 2017/18. For all the fixtures and scores from the forthcoming 2018/19 edition of the Premier League, you can hop on to

List of Premier League Winners ( 1992 to date)

1992-93- Man Utd
1993-94- Man Utd
1994-95- Blackburn Rovers
1995-96- Man Utd
1996-97- Man Utd
1997-98- Arsenal
1998-99- Man Utd
1999-00- Man Utd
2000-01- Man Utd
2001-02- Arsenal
2002-03- Man Utd
2003-04- Arsenal
2004-05- Chelsea
2005-06- Chelsea
2006-07- Man Utd
2007-08- Man Utd
2008-09- Man Utd
2009-10- Chelsea
2010-11- Man Utd
2011-12 Manchester City
2012-13 Man Utd
2013-14 Manchester City
2014-15 Chelsea
2015-16 Leicester City
2016-17 Chelsea
2017-18 Manchester City

By Number of titles:

Manchester United- 13
Chelsea – 5
Arsenal- 3
Manchester City- 3
Blackburn- 1
Leicester City- 1

102 Comments so far
  1. BD January 3, 2018 6:48 pm

    Before the blues are, the gunners were for London. The only unbeatable team of 49 games.
    Gunners 4 life.

  2. chris martin January 31, 2018 7:46 pm

    english premiership for de teams dat wear blue as de major colour chelsea,man city,leicester only

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



© Soccer Blog|Football News, Reviews, Quizzes, - WordPress Themes by DBT We are not responsible for the content of external sites