Video- Andy Carroll Disallowed goal vs Chelsea FA Cup Final 2012 Petr Cech Save

By Soccer Blog | May 5, 2012

This disallowed Carroll goal vs Chelsea ( VIDEO BELOW) was a turning point in Liverpool’s 2-1 loss to Chelsea in the FA Cup final on May 5, 2012, Saturday. With the game at 2-1, Carroll headed the ball at the back post and moved away to celebrate, but Petr Cech pulled off an amazing save to keep his side ahead.

Video- Carroll’s disallowed goal against Chelsea- Petr Cech save

Chelsea 2-1 Liverpool ( Carroll disallowed goal 82′)

Liverpool players protested at the assistant’s decision, and Luis Suarez got a yellow card for dissent.

( Credits of this Carroll disallowed goal v Chelsea video with uploaders)

53 Comments so far
  1. Mike May 5, 2012 7:23 pm

    Instead of celebrating, AC should have been on hand for the save/rebound- he’d have scored then

  2. Sean May 5, 2012 7:30 pm

    another vote for goal line technology

  3. Ian May 5, 2012 7:33 pm

    doesn’t look it would’ve gone in- as the first poster’s written, AC would have scored if he hadn’t been too eager to show off

  4. eagleeye May 5, 2012 7:49 pm

    its absolutely a goal!!! can’t you see the ball was already behind the post you a**!!!

  5. Naka May 5, 2012 7:51 pm

    The entire ball wasn’t over eagle eye. Not so much of an eagle eye ?

  6. Bird May 5, 2012 7:52 pm

    No matter the outcome, it looks like AC is on his way to justifying his hefty price tag. Looking forward to next season.

  7. Jereben May 5, 2012 7:59 pm

    It realy looks crazy when the line-man is partial in such a heart breaking game.the goal was very obvious.
    How can anyone compare it with the second goal chelsea scored against tottenham in the semi final?

  8. ratso May 5, 2012 8:34 pm

    how could cech save the goal by hitting it out back past the cross-bar – hitting the cross-bar on the way out- if it hadn’t gone past it on the way in already? Are you telling me Cech tried to palm it into the goal and it bounced back off the cross-bar?

  9. anthony May 5, 2012 9:20 pm

    the difference between the winner and loser these days is not game plan or quality play, its the REFEREE.

  10. happy toon lad May 5, 2012 9:50 pm

    i feel AC’s price tag was very justified….. it allowed us to buy CISSE!!!

  11. Dayne May 5, 2012 9:52 pm

    Shut-up people it is a goal…. and you cannot blame him for wanting to celebrate!!!! he was our best player by far. Spearing sucks

  12. gazza May 5, 2012 9:58 pm

    the whole ball wasnt across the line therfore it was a brilliant save

  13. chelseafan May 5, 2012 11:20 pm

    I’m a chelsea fan and I thought the ball definitely crossed the line when I first saw it. Now watching the replay I can confirm my first thought. Should have been 2-2. Lucky for us because Liverpool probably would have gone on to win it.

  14. vik May 5, 2012 11:23 pm

    its a goal……………….. come on …………………

  15. bon May 5, 2012 11:24 pm

    it wasn’t goal coz entire ball wasn;t through line

  16. Idowu peter May 6, 2012 12:21 am

    Wat a suprise game,how come liverpool shame on u

  17. Paul K. May 6, 2012 2:08 am

    sportige(dot)com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/Carroll-Ghost-Goal(dot)jpeg

    Look at the picture. Obviously not across the line

  18. Seth Grey May 6, 2012 4:47 am

    Well when I first saw it I was sure that it was a goal…but the replay DOES clearly show that it didn’t cross the line. It’s just bad luck for Liverpool (and an excellent save by Petr Cech). I don’t think there’s more to it than that.

  19. bob May 6, 2012 5:55 am

    i lurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrv liverpool

  20. kumar May 6, 2012 6:55 am

    well paul and seth if it wasn’t a goal then how come the ball hit the crossbar after coming off from the hand of peter cech and peter cech’s body was fully tilted in the crossline. If the ball had not crossed the cross line then it would have gone out without hitting the cross bar but the ball hit the inner part of cross bar after coming off from the gloves. So definitely refree robbed the F.A cup from Liverpool.

  21. GHANI MAMADE ACKBAL May 6, 2012 7:58 am

    It was obvious!no more than a goal but the referee and the line-man were indeed wrong in their judgement.it will always be sad in the history of FA CUP football.I wish the liverpool team courage,stand up!!!

  22. Arnie May 6, 2012 8:06 am

    If the entire ball is supposed to cross the line then follow the line from the top of the picture down. The camera angle isn’t 100 percent inline, technically speaking.Easy to say it wasn’t a goal but so much harder admitting it was! It should have been given!!!

  23. Andy May 6, 2012 9:07 am

    Because the camera is not directly in line, it makes no sense to follow the touch line. Instead line the ball up against the cross bar (the ball was far closer to the bar than the touchline). You can quite clearly see that the ball was only two-thirds over the plane of the goal – hence no goal. With regards to the earlier post suggesting that Cech had hit the ball out of the goal onto the cross bar, he actually claws the ball UP onto the cross bar with just enough forward motion to ensure that it bounces in front of the goal line. Sometimes you need to give credit to the officials for getting a very difficult decision right without the benefit of replays. (Nevertheless i fully agree that goal line technology is a must.)

  24. Big Boozer May 6, 2012 9:12 am

    Do not look at the post…look at the goal line…looks like a goal from that angle…

  25. coln May 6, 2012 9:48 am

    If you look carefully you can see that the tension lines on back of net,actually pull the crossbar backwards away from goal line.Therefore by taking a line down,this makes the ball more over than if crossbar was level.Easily a goal!!!

  26. Charlie Brown May 6, 2012 9:51 am

    It’s not a goal. The WHOLE ball must be ACROSS the line. If ANY part of the ball is UNDER the crossbar, it is NOT a goal.

  27. kingsley May 6, 2012 10:43 am

    Was that a goal

  28. Anne May 6, 2012 11:19 am

    Was 100% a goal. Hard decision for anyone. We need goal line technology to stop these real mistakes……too much at stake.

  29. Jack May 6, 2012 12:17 pm

    Not a goal, that is not the whole of the ball. Great save. If the ref isn’t sure then it can’t be given anyway. Unlike the goal given in the semi the referee and his assistants made the right call.

  30. Sixx May 6, 2012 12:24 pm

    It’s not a goal, it’s karma. Champions league semi-final 2005 ;) Luis Garcia ¨goal¨ :)

  31. chris May 6, 2012 2:19 pm

    you have only to look at the line not the crossbar to see it was a goal, its a deceiving angle unless u look closely pause the top vid on 1.01….. :D

  32. greg May 6, 2012 2:58 pm

    blatantly not a goal. trust me i wanted it to be a goal, but it wasn’t. just a ridiculous save from cech

  33. Howoeye temidayor May 6, 2012 5:26 pm

    The ball is a goal, cos if we take look at bar line it has pass. It is an absolute goal.

  34. Graham Humphreys May 6, 2012 8:10 pm

    …..I reckon given the occaission…and for the interest and benefit of all the viewers over the world then given the flow of play (liverpool dominance, chelsea dangerous on the break) the ref should have looked at the bigger picture and given the goal……a bit like giving the benfit of the doubt with the off-side rule and how many goals Chelsea have enjoyed in similar circumstances (spurs, wigan etc). It would then have been a further 90 mins of esge of the seat stuff….shame…..ref….you robbed the viewers……

  35. Andy May 6, 2012 9:56 pm

    As mentioned earlier, looking at the goal line is deceptive as the camera is not directly in line and therefore the plane created by the goal line and the goal posts is twisted at an angle.
    Mathematically it makes sense to line the ball up with the crossbar – quite definitely the ball did NOT cross the line in it’s entirety.

  36. vincent e May 6, 2012 11:02 pm

    what a shame, european officiating is such a mess, soon they’ll totally mess it up. Y did they disallow liverpool’s 2nd goal?

  37. nur May 7, 2012 2:57 am

    It a goal….. definitly…

  38. kthun May 7, 2012 4:37 am

    f Liverpool fans

  39. kudom May 7, 2012 9:15 am

    IT WAS A GOAL! THE PICTURES DONT SHOW THE WHOLE SITUATIONS, THE BALL BOUNCH BACK FROM THE INSIDE, NOT BOUNCH BACK VERTICALLY TO THE BOTTOM OF THE POST!! CHELSEA IS FAKE WINNER!!! BY THE WAY FUCK TO ALL ENGLAND REFREE…..

  40. Awfan May 7, 2012 10:09 am

    Firstly, I’ve not seen one photo or video clip that does anything more than confirm that the officials made the correct decisions. In all photos, mock ups etc you can clearly see at least part of the ball still touching the line.
    Secondly even if the ball had been over the line, if we are still debating the point after two days of videos, slow motion replay, freeze frame, computer generated simulation, it’s a big ask for the officials to get this right on one full speed viewing. Nevertheless they did. I think we should be praising the officials for getting this one right.
    It does of course reaffirm the need for goal-line technology which I am strongly in favour of. After all it has worked in Rugby,Cricket, Tennis and numerous other sports. Until such time as it comes in we will just have to believe that these things do balance themselves out in the long run. After all even putting aside the ghost goal that was awarded to Liverpool against Chelsea in the 2005 Champs League Semi Final, Chelsea also scored a very clear goal in the 2009 Cup Final v Everton. It clearly bounced over the line but because Chelsea still went on to win the game it is often forgotten.

  41. Awfan May 7, 2012 10:12 am

    Sorry, In my earlier comment meant to say that Chelsea scored a very clear goal in the 2009 Cup Final WHICH WAS NOT AWARDED !

  42. Liam May 7, 2012 12:46 pm

    The start of the line is the part that is closest to the field of play (not the bit inside the goal) and if you have a look the ball Petr Cech puts his hand out inside the goal and the ball goes forward and yet it still hits the cross bar, if the ball wasn’t in it would have cleared the crossbar. This is the worst mistake FIFA have made by not allowing video into the game. To top it off Chelsea were in the same cercumstance in the semi final yet there goal was no were near in and it was called a goal. Liverpool were robbed and i belive they would have gone on and won the FA Cup.

  43. Thomas Heaton May 7, 2012 4:25 pm

    Definate Goal. Refs & linesman afraid to put there neck on the line, therefore goal line technology a must!

  44. David Moyes May 7, 2012 5:04 pm

    I have watched this video at least four times – Carroll was offside and actually handled the ball into the goal – and he´d made a disgusting racist comment to Cech just before making contact.

    He should have been sent off for that bloody haircut anyway. Big girl.

  45. Andres May 7, 2012 7:48 pm

    Guys come on. It is basic football. The entire ball needs to be passed the line.

  46. Dommy May 7, 2012 11:16 pm

    TTTTTTTTTHHHHHHHHHHHHAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTTTTTTT
    WAS A GOAL
    IT’s NOT AN “EIM=NSTEIN QUESTION

  47. sam May 8, 2012 11:24 am

    Such a goal! If you look at the replay, the crossbar is hiding the left part of the ball because the camera isnt exactly in line with the goal line!

  48. jacob May 8, 2012 6:06 pm

    Complete joke!!!!!
    David moyes, what sort of twisted world r u in anyway??? U must b crazy to think that he HANDBALLED it!!!
    his hair cut is fine u sexist pig, why bother complaining abt that????
    and try to find a recording of the “disgusting racist comment” that no-one else heard,
    or noticed.
    wake up and get back 2 the real world!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  49. AD May 8, 2012 8:34 pm

    The officials were very lucky with this decision for me. I say that because when i saw it at first glance I thought without a doubt that’s a goal, however the slow mo replays show without a doubt it wasn’t. There is no way the officials could have seen that in real time yet they still managed to get it right, fair play to them for doing so though.
    I don’t understand the people saying look at the goal line at all, provided the goals are constructed properly like you would expect them to be for an FA Cup final, the crossbar should be directly above the goal line so the sensible approach would be to look at the one closest to the ball, regardless of which you look at you can see the whole of the ball hasn’t crossed the whole of the line so no goal.

  50. Awfan May 9, 2012 3:42 pm

    Sanity at last – thanks AD.

  51. tilo July 22, 2012 7:31 pm

    I am a chelsea fan and I say the ball crossed the line
    But it did not cross fully the FIFA Offical rule is a goal is a goal when the WHOLE ball crossed the line
    :)

  52. Jordan April 6, 2013 5:53 pm

    I am a liverpool fan and I say that it clearly crossed the line.

    The WHOLE ball did cross the line although Cech got a hand to it.

    We need FIFA goal line technology otherwise this will go on forever, there will be suspicion and disptues but you can’t change it. It’s like Luis Garcia goal in the Champions League against the same team in 2005, it clearly crossed the line. If you look at it carefully, you will find it is a 100% goal.

    F*** OFF CHELSEA FANS :)

  53. poorliverpoolchav April 19, 2013 3:30 pm

    whole ball not over line. stop crying jordan, you chav

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

Comments

© Soccer Blog|Football News, Reviews, Quizzes, - WordPress Themes by DBT We are not responsible for the content of external sites