2016 PFA Player of the Year Riyad Mahrez, Young Player of the Season Dele Alli

By Soccer Blog | Apr 25, 2016

The PFA Player of the Year awards were announced last night at the Grosvenor House Hotel, with Leicester’s Riyad Mahrez picking up the prize. Mahrez, who arrived at the hotel in a helicopter from the King Power Stadium after Leicester’s 4-0 win over Swansea City, pipped Dimitri Payet, Harry Kane, Mesut Ozil and club mates Jamie Vardy and N’Golo Kante to the award and becomes the first African to win it. Even Chelsea’s mercurial Ivory Coast forward Didier Drogba, for all his exploits at the Bridge, never won the award during his stint there.

Spurs’ Dele Alli was named Young Player of the Year. He was however unable to attend because the Lilywhites have an upcoming fixture against West Bromwich Albion. Ossie Ardiles collected the award on his behalf

PFA Player of the Year Riyad Mahrez

PFA Young Player of the Year Dele Alli

The Women’s PFA Player of the Year award was won by Man City’s Izzy Christiansen, while the Young Player of the Year (Women) went to Sunderland’s Beth Mead.

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



© Soccer Blog|Football News, Reviews, Quizzes, - WordPress Themes by DBT We are not responsible for the content of external sites