List of Trophies won by Andrea Pirlo- Legendary Italian midfielder retires

By Soccer Blog | Nov 9, 2017

Italian midfielder Andrea Pirlo has brought the curtains down on a chequered playing career after announcing his retirement from professional football.

Pirlo’s last professional football appearance was with MLS outfit New York City FC, in the second leg of their playoff tie against Columbus Crew. NYCFC won 2-0, but Columbus advanced 4-3 on aggregate.

Pirlo played for both Milan clubs and Juventus, and has also had brief stints with Reggina (loan) and Brescia. He is best remembered for his time as a Milan player, but he also enjoyed great success with Juventus. Between 2010 and 2015, he won five successive Italian league trophies.

The likes of Paul Pogba and Carlo Ancelotti paid rich tributes to him after the news of his retirement broke.

Pirlo’s retirement now means that only five active members remain from the Italian squad that won the 2006 World Cup- Gigi Buffon, Daniele de Rossi, Andrea Barzagli, Alberto Gilardino and Cristian Zaccardo. Italy’s captain that year, the legendary Fabio Cannavaro, was recently confirmed as manager of Guangzhou Evergrande, his second stint with the CSL outfit

List of titles/trophies won by Pirlo:

6 Serie A titles:- 2 with AC Milan (2003/04 and 2010-11), and 4 with Juventus (2011/12, 12/13, 13/14 and 14/15)

1 Serie B title: with Brescia (1996/97)

2 Italian Cups: Milan (2002/03) and Juventus (2014/15)

3 Italian Super Cups: Milan (2004) and Juventus (2012, 2013)

2 Champions League: Milan (2002/03, 2006/07)

2 Super Cups (European): Milan (2003, 2007)

1 Club World Cup: Milan (2007)

1 Euro U21 title: Italy (2000)

1 World Cup: Italy (2006)

Andrea Pirlo Trophies Won

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



© Soccer Blog|Football News, Reviews, Quizzes, - WordPress Themes by DBT We are not responsible for the content of external sites