Wolves, Cardiff promoted to Premier League 2018-19- Sunderland, Barnsley, Burton Albion relegated from Championship

By Soccer Blog | May 6, 2018

Wolves, Cardiff and Fulham are the three teams to secure promotion to the Premier League 2018/19 from the Championship.

Neil Warnock’s Cardiff City were the second team to clinch automatic promotion to the Premier League for the 2018/19 season after a draw with Reading on the final day of the season (May 6, 2018). The goalless draw, coupled with Fulham’s shock loss to Birmingham (they had been unbeaten in 23), sent the Bluebirds to the Premier League via the automatic promotion route along with Championship winners Wolverhampton Wanderers- a record eighth time for Warnock.

Bolton staged a great escape to stay in the Championship after two late goals from David Wheater and Aaron Wilbraham saw them come from behind to beat Forest 3-2. The BWFC win mean that Barnsley and Burton, who lost to Derby and PNE respectively, will be in League One next season.

Cardiff being promoted will also provide plenty of incentive for fellow Welsh side Swansea to stay up- Carlos Carvalhal’s side aren’t quite safe yet.

Promoted to Premier League 2018/19

Automatic: Wolves, Cardiff

via Playoffs: Fulham,

Eliminated in playoffs:- Aston Villa, Middlesbrough, Derby County

Playoff first & second leg

Derby 1-0 Fulham, Fulham 2-0 Derby
Middlesbrough 0-1 Villa, Villa 0-0 Boro

Play off final

Fulham 1-0 Villa

Relegated from Championship to League One:- Barnsley, Burton Albion, Sunderland

Relegated from Premier League to Championship:- Swansea, Stoke and West Bromwich Albion

Final Championship 2017-2018 Table Pic

Championship Table 2018 19

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



© Soccer Blog|Football News, Reviews, Quizzes, - WordPress Themes by DBT We are not responsible for the content of external sites