Virgil van Dijk wins PFA Player of the Year for 2019

By Soccer Blog | Apr 30, 2019

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk has been named the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA)’s Player of the Year for the 2018-19 season.

The 27 year old was the world’s most expensive defender when he moved to Anfield from St.Mary’s, but that sum seems inconsequential now given the transformation he’s brought into the Liverpool backline. The Reds have conceded just 20 goals across 36 games and boast of the best defence in the league. In 2017/18, for reference, (although Van Dijk played in the second half of the season), Liverpool conceded 38 goals.

Van Dijk beat off competition from the Man City trio of Raheem Sterling, Sergio Aguero, Bernardo Silva, team-mate Sadio Mane and Chelsea forward Eden Hazard to win the title. Bizarrely enough, although a contender here, Belgian Hazard wasn’t named in the PFA Premier League Team of the Season.

Previous Dutch internationals to have won the award before Van Dijk include Dennis Bergkamp, Ruud van Nistelrooy and Robin van Persie. VVD is the first defender to win the award since John Terry in 2005.


Comments are closed.

Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)



© Soccer Blog|Football News, Reviews, Quizzes, - WordPress Themes by DBT We are not responsible for the content of external sites